Agenda

June 11, 2021

1:00 – 4:00PM EST, 12:00 – 3:00PM CST

Concurrent Virtual Workshops

1:00 – 4:00PM EST, 12:00 – 3:00PM CST

Virtual Workshop A: The Roadmap to Showing ROI

Gaining leadership buy-in starts with the ability to show return on investment, but, sometimes that road is not clear cut. The industry is making progress, but there’s a long way to go, yet showing ROI is more important now than ever.     

 

Attendees in this hands-on workshop will walk away with tactics to:  

 

  • Gain internal buy in from key stakeholders 
  • Optimize data collection and aggregation 
  • Discuss metrics as an industry 
  • Measure outcomes that will impact ROI    
  • Highlight models that have worked in food & housing 
  • Ultimately, showing ROI to scale SDoH initiatives 

 

Kimberly Dull  

Manager, Community Engagement Operational Performance

Novant Health

 

Jacob Reider, MD  

CEO

Alliance for Better Health

 

Eleanor Beaber  

Director of Social Impact Strategy

UnitedHealthcare

1:00 – 4:00PM EST, 12:00 – 3:00PM CST

Virtual Workshop B: Data Enthusiasts Working Group – The Intersection of Population Health, SDoH and All Things in Between

Calling all data geeks! Data collection, aggregation, sharing and governance is at the center of successful SDoH programs. However, there’s still a lack of standardization across the industry.  

This working group gathers stakeholders across the ecosystem and gives participants a platform to exchange ideas and best practices on all-things data driven to ultimately optimize their SDoH programs.   

 

Learn from others and discuss key topics, including:  

  • Data collection and aggregation
  • Keys to identifying populations via Population Health 
  • Discuss the evolution IT / technology solutions in the SDoH space 
  • Breaking down silos and data governance 
  • Data transfer between health plans, providers and community-based organizations
  • Insights into data sources that provide insights for health plans and providers
  • Hear how health plan are investing in communities based on data 

 

Anna Wetherbee

Principal, Technology Innovation and Integration

Blue Shield of California

 

Andy McMahon  

Vice President, Health and Human Services Policy

UnitedHealthcare Community & State

1:00 – 4:00PM EST, 12:00 – 3:00PM CST

Virtual Workshop C: CBO Readiness Bootcamp

Addressing SDoH is not a fad – it’s a transformation, especially in recent times when CBOs are inundated with requests and referrals. Is your Community-Based Organization ready to partner with health plans and providers to address SDoH? Many non-profits are struggling to navigate this territory yet the demand, and opportunity, to serve vulnerable populations is at an all-time high.    

   

In an updated workshop from last year’s conference, gain the know-how to meet the demands of healthcare partners and walk away with keys to:   

 

  • Readiness & capacity building 
  • Creating partnerships with Health Plans  
  • Contract negotiation 
  • Lessons learned during COVID-19 and preparing for the future 

 

Barbara Crider  

Executive Director

York County Community Action

 

Jane Pirsig  

Member Consultant

Alliance for Strong Families & Communities

 

Kristen D. Daugherty, LCSW  MBA
Chief Executive Officer
Emergence Health Network

2:00 – 2:30PM EST, 1:00 – 1:30PM CST
Virtual Networking Break

June 13, 2021

4:00 – 6:00PM CST

Pre-Conference Opening Networking Reception

In-person attendees will enjoy a socially distanced reception, compliant with CDC guidelines, providing networking opportunities among other in-person attendees, speakers, and solutions providers. For virtual attendees, turn on your camera and join us in the virtual networking lobby for face-to-face networking with other attendees that are joining us from the comfort of their home. No matter how you join, you’ll have access to those hallway conversations we’ve all been missing.

4:00 – 6:00PM CST
Registration Open

June 14, 2021

10:00 – 10:10AM EST, 9:00 – 9:10AM CST

Welcome Remarks

Ellen Fink-Samnick, MSW, ACSW, LCSW, CCM, CRP, DBH(s)

Non-Executive Director

RISE SDoH Community

10:10 – 10:55AM EST, 9:10 – 9:55AM CST

KEYNOTE: How to Change Anyone’s Mind

 

Jonah Berger

International Bestselling Author of Contagious, Invisible Influence, and The Catalyst 

Professor  

Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania 

10:55 – 11:10AM EST, 9:55 – 10:10AM CST
Networking Break

11:10 – 11:55AM EST, 10:10 – 10:55AM CST

Panel: The Impact of COVID-19 on SDoH Programs and How to Forge Ahead

  • Explore the needs COVID has brought to light, the change of service / healthcare delivery and the implications of the new healthcare landscape 
  • Evaluate the impact on partnerships as the dust settles and how to leverage the best resources in existence
  • Discuss the disruption in funding streams, aligning incentives and long-term financial impacts on SDoH program as a result of COVID-19  
  • Assess the impact of the pandemic on minority communities and how to navigate it

 

Moderator : 

John Siegel 

SVP Business Development 

GA Foods 


 

Panelists:  

Elena Marks 

President and Chief Executive Officer

Episcopal Health Foundation

 

Wayne Young 

Chief Executive Officer

The Harris Center

 

Amit Kale MD, MHA

Director of Healthcare Transformation

Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield of NJ

 

Niesha N. Foster 

Vice President, Product Access 

Global Health & Social Impact 

Pfizer Inc. 

 

11:55 – 12:10PM EST, 10:55 – 11:10AM CST
Networking Break

12:10 – 1:00PM EST, 11:10 – 12:00PM CST

Panel: Public / Private Partnerships at the State Level: Working Hand-in-Hand to Serve Vulnerable Populations

  • Hear case examples of what works in partnerships between public entities (state agencies, department of health, etc.) and the private sector (health plans, non-for-profit organizations and healthcare providers such as FQHCs) to deliver care to vulnerable individuals 
  • Gain insights into innovative pilots and programs on the ground in various states
  • Learn how to successfully navigate these partnerships, overcome roadblocks, and deliver results 

 

Moderator:

Jennifer Shore, MA 
Executive Director
Focus for Health

Panelists:

Suzy Sonnier 

Vice President, Strategy and Development

UnitedHealthcare (TN)

 

Catherine Hamilton

Vice President, Consumer Services & Planning

BlueCross BlueShield of Vermont

 

Christopher J. Ausura

Co-Director

Health Equity Institute

RI Department of Health

 

Mary Agens, RN

Executive Nursing Director for Clinical Informatics

FL Department of Health

1:00 – 2:00PM EST, 12:00 – 1:00PM CST
Lunch & Networking Break

2:00 – 2:05PM EST 1:00 – 1:05PM CST

Concurrent Tracks

Track A

Track A Chair Remarks

Track B

Track B Chair Remarks

2:05 – 2:50PM EST, 1:05 – 1:50PM CST

Concurrent Tracks

Track A

Using a Data-Supported Approach in NICU Care Management to Confront Health Inequities & SDOH

  • Create an interconnected, data-supported approach for confronting health inequities and social determinants of health in NICU care management
  • Explore myths and realities associated with health inequities and social determinants of health, and learn new approaches from the frontlines of NICU care management
  • Hear a case example involving specific inpatient and post-discharge strategies deployed through proactive technology, patient engagement, and community-based solutions

 

 

Ellen Stang, MD

Founder, CEO and Board Member

ProgenyHealth

 

Linda Genen, MD, MPH

Chief Medical Officer

ProgenyHealth

  

Angel Oddo

VP, Clinical Care Services/Gov’t Program  

Sentara Health 

Track B

Funding Case Example: Partnering between Funding / Community Organizations to Create a Greater Collective Impact - Spotlight on the Ebeid Neighborhood Promise

  • Hear about multifaceted initiative developed to address social determinants of health and create a model for neighborhood revitalization – from inception to funding allocation 
  • Gain insights into leveraging community partners, with specifics on how to engage neighborhoods, managing and reporting accountability, and what really works (and doesn’t work) on the ground 
  • Learn how your organization can create an inclusive RFP process for funding selections and how to scale similar initiatives going forward 

 

Adrienne Bradley 

Director, Community Impact

ProMedica  

 

Malcolm Cunningham 

Manager, Ebeid Center & UpTown Ebeid Neighborhood Promise

ProMedica

Track B

Case Study: Listening to Members and Leveraging Analytics to Address SDOH

  • Hear how one healthcare payer stood up an end-to-end food logistics solution in just six weeks to quickly support members in need of food insecurity assistance 
  • Learn how data analytics can help identify those who might be at risk and in turn, respond in a coordinated and timely manner with the support of local vendors  
  • Better understand the power of evolving existing programs, networks and enterprise efforts to meet the new demands of today’s consumers

 

 

Jennifer Spear

Population Health Lead, Population Health Strategy 

Humana 

 

Dr. Andrew Renda

Vice President of Population Health

Humana

2:50 – 3:05PM EST, 1:50 – 2:05PM CST
Networking Break / Transition

3:05 – 3:50PM EST, 2:05 – 2:50PM CST

Concurrent Sessions

Track A

A SDoH Partnership in Action: Spotlight on a Successful Cross-Sector Collaboration in Rockford, IL

Bob Vertiz, Chief of Training in the second largest Fire Department in the state of IL, as he discusses a success story in partnering with healthcare stakeholders in his community to improve patient outcomes.   

In this talk, Bob sheds light on how health plans and other healthcare stakeholders can:  

  • Learn from and implement a similar partnership as the Rockford Fire Department did with MCOs and hospital systems to optimize emergency medical services 
  • Tap into already established resources within their community to impact member health 
  • Reduce costs through mobile integrated care 

 

Bob Vertiz 

Chief of Training

Rockford Fire Department

 

Ann Gantzer 

Vice President, Patient Services

Swedish American Hospital

Track B

Case Study: Listening to Members and Leveraging Analytics to Address SDOH

  • Hear how one healthcare payer stood up an end-to-end food logistics solution in just six weeks to quickly support members in need of food insecurity assistance 
  • Learn how data analytics can help identify those who might be at risk and in turn, respond in a coordinated and timely manner with the support of local vendors  
  • Better understand the power of evolving existing programs, networks and enterprise efforts to meet the new demands of today’s consumers

 

Jennifer Spear

Population Health Lead, Population Health Strategy 

Humana 

 

Dr. Andrew Renda

Vice President of Population Health

Humana

Track B

Funding Case Example: Partnering between Funding / Community Organizations to Create a Greater Collective Impact - Spotlight on the Ebeid Neighborhood Promise

  • Hear about multifaceted initiative developed to address social determinants of health and create a model for neighborhood revitalization – from inception to funding allocation 
  • Gain insights into leveraging community partners, with specifics on how to engage neighborhoods, managing and reporting accountability, and what really works (and doesn’t work) on the ground 
  • Learn how your organization can create an inclusive RFP process for funding selections and how to scale similar initiatives going forward 

 

Adrienne Bradley 

Director, Community Impact

ProMedica  

 

Malcolm Cunningham 

Manager, Ebeid Center & UpTown Ebeid Neighborhood Promise

ProMedica

3:50 – 4:05PM EST, 2:50 – 3:05PM CST
Networking Break

4:05 – 4:50PM EST, 3:05 – 3:50PM CST

Connecting the Dots on SDoH: An Update on What’s Happening on the Hill

  • Gain insights into current happenings on the Hill as it relates to SDoH 
  • Discuss ways that Health Plans can leverage federal health programs and social needs care to ensure a healthier future for all
  • Gain new ideas for future policy solutions and discuss how you can make an impact 

 

Melissa Quick

Co-Chair

Aligning for Health

4:50 – 5:00PM EST, 3:50 – 4:00PM CST

Tools & Tech Spotlight

Hear about new technologies and tools to make your SDoH more efficient in a quickfire setting. Interested in presenting your technology or solution? Contact Sarah Scarry at SScarry@risehealth.org

5:00– 5:05PM EST, 4:00 – 4:05PM CST

Closing Remarks

Ellen Fink-Samnick, MSW, ACSW, LCSW, CCM, CRP, DBH(s)

Non-Executive Director

RISE SDoH Community

5:05 – 6:05PM EST, 4:05 – 5:05PM CST
Networking Reception

In-person attendees will enjoy a socially distanced reception, compliant with CDC guidelines, providing networking opportunities among other in-person attendees, speakers, and solutions providers. For virtual attendees, turn on your camera and join us in the virtual networking lobby for face-to-face networking with other attendees that are joining us from the comfort of their home. No matter how you join, you’ll have access to those hallway conversations we’ve all been missing.

June 15, 2021

9:00 – 10:00AM EST, 8:00 – 9:00AM CST
Morning Networking & Registration Open
9:00 – 4:00PM EST, 8:00 – 3:00PM CST
Exhibit Hall Open

10:00 – 10:10AM EST, 9:00 – 9:10AM CST

Welcome Remarks and Day One Recap

Ellen Fink-Samnick, MSW, ACSW, LCSW, CCM, CRP, DBH(s) (F2F)

Non-Executive Director

RISE SDoH Community

10:10 – 10:55AM EST, 9:10 – 9:55AM CST

Spotlight on a Sustainable Financing Solution – An Upstream Economic Model that Works

  • Consider how upstream interventions in addressing social determinants in targeted ways can lower costs and improve outcomes and equity
  • Address the free rider problem with a novel community financing mechanism
  • Hear case examples where this economic model has worked and understand how you can apply similar principles within your community 

 

Len M. Nichols, Ph.D.   

Non-Resident Fellow
Health Policy Center, Urban Institute

10:55 – 11:10AM EST, 9:55 – 10:10AM CST
Networking Break

11:10 – 12:00PM EST, 10:10 – 11:00AM CST

Panel: The Intersection of Sustainability & Care Delivery: Innovative Funding Mechanisms & Payment Models

  • Evaluate creative funding mechanisms and options - what do you do when the money runs out?
  • Hear examples of funding models that work and in turn, create sustainable ways to provide the best service to the most vulnerable populations  
  • Assess state of play on creative financing, including the business model of pay for success etc. 
  • Build in SDoH incentives into value-based agreements between health plans and healthcare providers 

 

 

Moderator:

Ellen Fink-Samnick, MSW, ACSW, LCSW, CCM, CRP, DBH(s)

Non-Executive Director 

RISE SDoH Community 

 

Panelists:

Stuart Butler 

Senior Fellow in Economic Studies

The Brookings Institution

 

Rev. Alexander Plum 

Director, Clinical & Social Health Integration

 Henry Ford Health System

 

Robert Gibson

Chief Strategy & Innovation Officer  

Volunteers of America

 

Melissa Sherry

Vice President of Social Care Integration

UniteUs

12:00 – 12:15PM EST, 11:00 – 11:15AM CST
Networking Break

12:15 – 1:00PM EST, 11:15 – 12:00PM CST

Concurrent Sessions

Track A

Spotlight on Food Access: How One Health System bridged data, stories and people to launch a community-centered food access program

  • Hear a case study example from Virtua Health on operationalizing the "Eat Well Mobile Grocery Store", a 40-foot mobile store offering fresh, affordable, healthy, and culturally relevant foods at below-market prices to residents in Southern NJ
  • Gain insights into how you can get a similar community health initiative off the ground, with details on funding, keys to internal buy-in and gathering the right stakeholders at the table
  • Learn how you can scale similar initiatives within your community with insights into the operations focused on data collection, community engagement, staffing and ROI

 

April Schetler, MS, RD, FAND (F2F)

AVP, Community Health Engagement 

Virtua Health 

Track B

Consumer Experience: Improve Results by Measuring Consumer Behavior & SDOH

  • Best practices and real-world examples for closing gaps in care, and improving member engagement and health outcomes
  • Manage and assess member population at a scalable, individual level
  • Identify and address racial, ethnic, and socioeconomic equity within your population

 

Kurt Waltenbaugh

CEO & Founder

Carrot Health

 

Co-presenter to be announced

Track B

Session to be Announced

Richard Clarke

Chief Analytics Officer 

Highmark Health 

 

Todd Gottula

President & Chief Product Officer 

Clarify Health 

1:00 – 2:00PM EST, 12:00 – 1:00PM CST
Lunch & Networking Break

2:00 – 2:45PM EST, 1:00 – 1:45PM CST

Concurrent Sessions

Track A

Crossing the Digital Divide in Government Programs

  • Learn about the innovations, initiatives, and bright spots that are moving us forward in order to close gaps caused by this super determinant
  • Discuss what roles health plans can play to bridge the barriers created by the digital divide
  • Gain techniques to improve technology access and digital literacy, and how that ultimately impacts health outcomes

 

Sara Ratner

Senior Vice President,  Government Markets and Strategic Initiatives

Icario

 

John Gorman

Chairman  

Nightingale Partners 

Track B

Session to be Announced

Richard Clarke

Chief Analytics Officer 

Highmark Health 

 

Todd Gottula

President & Chief Product Officer 

Clarify Health 

Track B

Consumer Experience: Improve Results by Measuring Consumer Behavior & SDOH

  • Best practices and real-world examples for closing gaps in care, and improving member engagement and health outcomes
  • Manage and assess member population at a scalable, individual level
  • Identify and address racial, ethnic, and socioeconomic equity within your population

 

Kurt Waltenbaugh

CEO & Founder

Carrot Health

 

Co-presenter to be announced

2:45 – 3:00PM EST, 1:45 – 2:00PM CST
Networking Break

3:00 – 3:45PM EST, 2:00 – 2:45PM CST

Panel: Perspectives on SDoH Innovation – What’s on the Horizon?

Panelists share examples of innovative best practices, program examples and perspectives on the current / future state of SDoH in the managed care space.   

  • Hear about progress made on data collection, targeting, use of AI and thoughts on the digital divide  
  • Got an innovative program off the ground? Now what? Hear perspectives on what it really takes to scale SDoH initiatives within managed care organizations 
  • Ignite ideas of innovation and implement them within your organization   

 

Moderator:

Megan Shreve

CEO

South Central Community Action Programs, Inc.

 

Panelists:

Deb Donovan

Vice President, SDOH Strategy & Operations

Highmark

 

Eve Gelb 

Senior Vice President, Member and Community Health

SCAN Health Plan

 

Regina Vercilla

Vice President, Clinical Strategy and Innovation

Gateway Health

 

Tamara Smith

Vice President Community Engagement

Novant Health

3:45 – 3:55PM EST, 2:45 – 2:55PM EST

Tools & Tech Spotlight

Hear about new technologies and tools to make your SDoH more efficient in a quickfire setting. Interested in presenting your technology or solution? Contact Sarah Scarry at SScarry@risehealth.org

3:55 – 4:00PM EST, 2:55 – 3:00PM CST

Conference Closing Remarks

Ellen Fink-Samnick, MSW, ACSW, LCSW, CCM, CRP, DBH(s) (F2F)

Non-Executive Director

RISE SDoH Community